Temporary pause to ten School Streets schemes – Newsroom

Ten School Street schemes, introduced on a temporary basis in Autumn 2020, will be paused while Croydon Council prepares for fresh local consultation.

The schemes were introduced between September and December 2020 on an Experimental Traffic Order, which requires public consultation of at least 6 months. Due to Covid-19 lockdowns and school closures, their introduction and necessary consultation was disrupted.

The traffic order ran for 18 months in total – coming to an end on Monday 28 February. The council now plans to prepare new Experimental Traffic Orders and accompanying consultations. There will be no enforcement during this period.

With schools firmly reopened, the new consultations will provide residents with ample opportunity to give their views, and for the council to collect and analyse their feedback.

These schemes have proven very popular with parents, schools and pupils, having made many pupils opt to walk, cycle or scoot as part of a healthier school run. This has led to quality time with parents and carers, better focus in class, and more sustainable journeys.

The council intends to return these schemes as soon as possible and apologises for any disruption in the meantime.

The schemes which will be paused as of 4pm on Monday 28 February are:

  • Christ Church CofE Primary School – CR8 2QE
  • Downsview Primary School – SE19 3XE
  • Ecclesbourne Primary School – CR7 7FA
  • Harris Primary Academy Haling Park – CR2 6HS
  • Keston Primary School – CR5 1HP
  • Harris Primary Academy Croydon – CR0 3JT
  • Oasis Academy Ryelands – SE25 4XG
  • Ridgeway Primary School – CR2 0EQ
  • St Thomas Becket Catholic Primary – SE25 5BN
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Junior School – SE19 3NU

Source link

Show More