Rubbish is all wrapped up for Christmas


Posted on Friday 23rd November 2018

From wrapping paper to discarded packaging, Christmas can create a lot of extra waste, so Bournemouth Council are asking residents to become ‘waste aware’ by taking note of their local bin collection days over the festive period, to avoid any unnecessary trips to the tip.

Everyone deserves a holiday, and on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day there will be no household waste or recycling collections. Instead alternative catch-up collections will be scheduled to run from Saturday 22 December to Saturday 5 January.

Your collections may be earlier than expected.

To enable residents to plan ahead, each household that needs to put their bin out before their usual collection day will be receiving a reminder in the form of a bin hanger with the full list of collection days and alternative collection days included, which can be displayed inside or added to the calendar. Other properties will be collected one day later than usual.

Bins need to be out by 5am on the day of the collection, but if the festive merriment takes over and bins are forgotten, any extra waste – including Christmas trees – can be taken to Millhams Community Recycling Centre in Longham, which has now reopened after recent improvements. The Centre will be closed on Christmas, Boxing and New Year’s Day, but ready for rubbish at all other times. Improvements to Millhams include a complete drainage system to avoid the site and nearby roads flooding, clearer signage, and traffic control to improve site safety.

In addition, residents are being encouraged to ‘feed their caddy’ should any brussel sprouts or other festive food remain uneaten, with free compostable liners available from local libraries. Alternatively, planning meals in advance will lower the amount of food wasted and leave the food caddy with room to spare.

Below is a list of December alternative waste collection dates:

 















Usual Collection Day

Switched To

Monday 24 December

Saturday 22 December

Tuesday 25 December

Monday 24 December

Wednesday 26 December

Thursday 27 December

Thursday 27 December

Friday 28 December

Friday 28 December

Saturday 29 December

 

 

Monday 31 December

Monday 31 December

Tuesday 1 January

Wednesday 2 January

Wednesday 2 January

Thursday 3 January

Thursday 3 January

Friday 4 January

Friday 4 January

Saturday 5 January

 

So, don’t start the New Year under piles of rubbish, familiarise yourselves with the alternative waste collection dates  now!

For further information on Christmas and New Year waste collections, please visit www.bournemouth.gov.uk/festivewaste 

Source link

Show More