Young people elected to represent Hull as Members of Youth Parliament announced

The Lord Mayor of Kingston Upon Hull, Councillor Lynn Petrini, has announced who will represent Hull in the UK Youth Parliament.

Four youth representatives have been announced; Toby Gold and Logan Richards have been elected as new Members of Youth Parliament (MYP), and Scarlett-Victoria Rowland and Elizabeth Wilson have been elected as Deputy Members.

20 young people applied to represent Hull, and the four young people, aged between 11 and 17, will now represent Hull on a local, regional and national level.

Councillor Shane McMurray, Portfolio Holder for children’s services said: “The UK Youth Parliament gives young people from Hull the opportunity to represent our local area on a national scale. It provides a platform to have a voice on issues affecting our city’s young people.

“Young people involved will also gain an increased understanding of the views and issues affecting others and a greater insight into politics, whilst developing their own skills such as public speaking and debating. Well done to those elected today!”

The Youth Parliament creates and delivers campaigns on issues affecting young people. They work with MPs, councillors and local youth groups on issues, lobby for change and amplify views of their peers.

Youth elections take place every two years and enable young people to have a voice in the democratic process.

Source link

Show More